Do I want a “Career”?

Who doesn’t want a successful career? I certainly most definitely wanted one and still do. Goodness knows though, I had no idea in what or with what kind of company. I am NOT, I repeat not, a good corporate soldier. So what a single mom in her twenties supposed to do? Well, I became an Admin. I was going from company to company, but always in the admin role, pretty unhappily too. Not because I was flighty, or got fired, but because almost every company I worked at downsized, closed or somehow became non-functional. I hated it, with a passion. Then I managed an apartment community. I LOVED that. LOVED the people, hated myself and who I became due to my SUPER UBER crappy managers above me and the brown nosing suck up VP who threw me under the bus every chance he got. There were two of them. My direct manager didn’t care what I did as long as I didn’t need him for it. It was a lose-lose situation. I happily left, regretting who I became and wishing I did lots of things differently. I was too good for them. They were snakes. Really. New York snakes in the grass. I still wish them ill and I know I know better. But the bitter chick who hated being rotten, is still ticked about the whole deal.

So what do I want? What kind of career would I really enjoy, sink my teeth into and be a better person for it? What inspires me to work my butt off and still gives me that feeling of being a do-gooder? Yea, I want to be a do-gooder. I am here on this planet to serve and give, and laugh, love, learn and find adventures. So I think I need my own business. Something I can really immerse myself in. So, would definitely love my own business. Though, admittedly I am not sure what kind. I love growing veggies, cooking and preparing food for myself and my family. I really love learning about nutrition and wellness through proper nutrition. I love social events, volunteering, and planning events, I love to create the food for events. Nothing fancy, nothing complicated. Just good food. Something amazing rushes through me when people eat my food and they actually enjoy it. Nothing feels better. I imagine my business would be naturally inclined towards food or growing food for others…in some way.

One of my goals for 2014 is to figure this out. Where am I going in a career/business? Who will be my mentors and inspirational go getters that lift me up, not drag me down? What kind of business will I find is best suited for me? Is it a cottage-y small local brick and mortar or an online experience? Will I need training, certifications, education? Lots to think about. But it’s weighing heavily on my mid. Even though I have a 4 month old and a 3 year old at home with me. Even though we are a one van family. Even though we may move in July. Even though I have lots of other thoughts and ideas on my mind. I must give myself the opportunity to be successful in business. It’s part of who I am. Prefer a business I can develop and use to make the world a better place. No matter who insignificant it may seem, any improvement upon this planet…is an improvement nonetheless.

Do you have any success stories of your own you could share? I am always looking for inspiration!

By the way, I want to share with you one of my favorite morning smiles. It’s found at http://www.tut.com and they are my daily notes from “The Universe” (via Mike Dooley). They really help me, sometimes making get really super happy, hopeful and even makes me laugh, too. I truly love opening my email to find my note each morning. It’s probably the #1 reason I even bother to open my email in the morning.

Leave a Reply

