Nurture in 2014

That is my buzz “word” for 2014. It seems everywhere i read lately we are all searching for a word. I thought it was “ease” for me, but that is Tara Stiles word and I don’t feel like stealing her word, it felt used. I prefer my own original word not shared by a personality I am fond of on the inter-webs.

I was thinking Nourish, but it has such an attachment to food I thought I would end up obsessing over food issues all year.  It sounds like a brand nowadays. So as much as I like food and like the word Nourish….it’s too ordinary and food related. believe it or not there is more to life that food, and to simply nourish my body leaves me thinking I cant enjoy food in the crazy unhealthy way I like to once in a while since I am such a freaking rebel. I could say Nourish means body and soul…but we all think of food as soon as we say it in our heads.

But this…rolls around in my head like a soft squishy happy gummy bear:

Nurture. I should nurture *me* a lot more and I most certainly enjoy nurturing my children and family.

Verb: care for and encourage the growth or development of.

1. to feed and protect: to nurture one’s offspring.

2. to support and encourage, as during the period of training or development; foster: to nurture promising musicians.
3. to bring up; train; educate.

Noun:  the process of caring for and encouraging the growth or development of someone or something.

4. rearing, upbringing, training, education, or the like.
5. development: the nurture of young artists.
6. something that nourishes; nourishment; food.

 

Yes. yes. Absolutely. I own it. It’s my word. This year I will nurture myself and focus on ways to improve how I nurture those around me.  It feels right. It feels good to discover my “word”.

I already love 2014 so much! This makes it even more interesting and fun. What is your “word”?

 

Peace out homies.

Leave a Reply

